Aren’t Pep Rallies for Football Teams?

You can ask anyone who taught with me when I was in the classroom—I hate academic pep rallies with a passion.  When I was in marching band in high school and college, I had no choice but to go to pep rallies, but at least those were made more bearable with a cocktail or two beforehand (in college, thank you).  Looks like I’m not the only one with that feeling.

via Teaching Now:

Will Richardson is seriously aggrieved by the curious spectacle of school standardized testing pep rallies:

You have to wonder, is this really what we’ve come to in schools? That we have to remind kids that they are “bigger than the test” and show pictures of kids with captions like “6th Grade: Not Afraid” in an effort to steel their nerves? That showing what they’ve “learned” in schools is something they have to mentally prepare themselves for instead of just naturally exhibit? Really?For Richardson, these events send kids all the wrong messages about learning. But what’s your view? Can they be constructive?

(In the interests of full journalistic disclosure, I have to say that when I was in high school, I didn’t even like the regular sports-related kind of pep rally, so I sort of instinctively cringe at this sort of thing. But maybe that’s just me. And apparently Richardson.)

One Comment on “Aren’t Pep Rallies for Football Teams?”

  1. Alain Mota says:

    To only think about a test performance when you are learning, to summarize your academic career by what you do on a couple of tests, it is not only conflicting but morally wrong to measure student learning with this very narrow, biased “measuring stick”. One of my family members recently summarized it perfectly for me after discussing the state of education: she told me if it was up to the standardized test results, she was unfit to pursue a career in anything. This person recently became a PhD in Environmental Toxicology, has authored several research papers in recognized and respected journals, and already teaches at the college level. Standardized testing is setting boundaries where there should not be any. Potential is limitless. Tests aren’t.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.